20150425_164402

At different times in my life I have thought it would be exciting to live on a sailboat. Maybe sail the Seven Seas. Though my idea of the Seven Seas extends geographically to the more medieval version. You know the one I’m talking about- where seafarers navigated their boats to exotic locales and explored tiny islands unknown to man. The Seven Seas to me are the Adriatic, the Mediterranean including the Aegean Sea, the Black Sea, the Caspian, the Persian Gulf, and the Red Sea.  As time went by I knew this was a dream that I probably wouldn’t realize in this lifetime but that was okay. A lot of work goes into owning a sailboat requiring a true passion for the sea. Also it helps to not have paranoid fears of what might swim in its depths. I love to snorkel but I am a bit phobic of what I cannot see lurking in the depths of the water. Recently I flirted with the idea of learning to scuba dive yet my subconscious comes front and forward to terrorize me.

JAWS (imagine music from movie building up in volume)

GIANT TENTACLES REACHING UP FROM THE DEPTHS

Etcetera. Etcetera. Etcetera. Could it be possibly that I have watched too many scary movies since I was young? Or is it just a normal fear and a respect for creatures that live in an environment that is unnatural to humans? Ponder that for awhile…

Kris swimming in the sea.

No fear of water = Kris swimming in the sea.

So maybe I’ll never scuba dive. Possibly never sail around the world to explore the Seven Seas but I will continue to explore the world with Kris to swim in waters far away from our home in Texas. Kris and I did make it to the Tyrrhenian Sea, a part of the Mediterranean two years ago giving us a taste of brilliant azure waters. She actually jumped into the water out of the boat we were touring in to take a swim but then again she is a water baby.  Taught the big ole scared sailors she was in the Navy with to swim too.

Back in 2012 we hadn’t been to Hawaii yet. When we finally discovered snorkeling we fell in love with the turquoise waters off Kauai. We have now been back to Kauai twice. That is where the thoughts of learning to scuba dive started to materialize in our minds. It hasn’t happened yet but here in Lake Jackson there is a diving school at Mammoth Lake. Yes, fossilized bones from an actual mammoth were discovered there years ago. So, we’ll see. In the meantime, look below the silly picture of me in goggles to read about our visit to the island of Mallorca in the Balearic Islands off the east coast of Spain. DCIM100GOPRO Kris and I left Germany just when the weather was beginning to cool down again. Apparently, the warm weather that everyone was enjoying was not normal; just a tease. We flew the infamous Ryanair once again. It’s hard to pass up the cheap flights that are offered to destinations unknown. As long as you obey all the rules set by the airline you won’t have to pay any penalties. That does mean being there when they say you need to be, luggage must meet weight and size guidelines, and what a German young man learned the hard way is to carry proper identification. His friends boarded without him. Actually, one of the friends stayed behind with him to take care of the business of getting his ID from their home (an hour away) and taking a later flight. For an extra charge, that is. All I have to say about that is- Ding, dong- where was your brain young man?

Our flight was short and sweet and before we knew it we had arrived on the sunny island of Mallorca surrounded by so many German speaking tourists that I thought Ihad arrived back in Germany. Actually, there were lots of Brits too and we had a nice conversation with a man and his wife from the U.K.

Majorcans speak Spanish and a local Catalan dialect called Mallorquí. It is a beautiful language that sounds like a cross between Spanish, French, and Italian. Kris and I had fun practicing the little bit of Spanish we know from living in Texas. The housekeepers were patient and liked to get me to say various words in Spanish when we ran into each other in the halls or for turn-down service. Personally I think they wanted to hear my Texan drawl butchering words that otherwise sound pretty. A laugh or two at my expense is fine. Smile lines show that you enjoy life.

I have to admit that Kris and I had no clue on where to book a hotel when we decided to visit Mallorca. Most of the information we found on the internet isn’t geared towards American tourists either. I think this is mostly because the island is a destination for Europeans. So we closed our eyes and picked a hotel. Turned out to be a resort that catered to adults and quiet time. Fabulous. The  Meliá de Mar is located in Illetas, a small port town, away from the maddening crowds of Palma. We were just at the end of the winter/ spring off-season so the hotel was still quiet. The day we left for Barcelona I noticed the hotel getting lots of arrivals for the start of high season.

20150426_094959

The adults only Meliá de Mar. Actually the rules state no one under 16.

20150425_110908

View from the room.

20150426_160009

Nice train ride up and down the mountain.

20150426_093259

My own private Idaho- I mean lagoon.

20150426_115451

Kris obliging me with a pic on the train to Soller where lemons reign supreme.

20150426_123013

The fragrance of the lemon trees was intoxicating.

20150426_133455

We had lunch of tapas in the town square with the cathedral across the way. The best aioli in the world for the potatas bravas.

20150426_130840

We hopped another train down to the Port of Soller.

20150426_160910

Watched this lady from our spot on the beach. It was so obvious she just wanted to swim but she had no one to watch her backpack. Before I could get up and offer to watch it she just laid it on the beach. Before we knew it she was floating on her back in the clear blue sea.

20150426_160842

Me- wishing I had a bathing suit on so I could swim.

20150426_155423

Makes you want to live on boat, huh?

On a different day we rented a car so we could take a road trip across the island. We wanted to go deep into the earth to visit the Cuevas del Drach that have an underground lake. After following the path down, down, down we came to an underground arena built from stone where we listened to a live classical concert boosted by Mother Earth’s majestic acoustics. Not having a professional camera I give you this link to see a really good quality picture- http://www.mallorcadaysout.com/9.9.html.

20150427_131702

No pictures could do these caves justice.

Kris and I wandered about the east side of the island that day after the Cuevas del Drach. We explored little beaches and towns but didn’t make it to see the archeological areas which include Roman and Prehistoric sites. Alas, there just wasn’t enough time and we will need to come back one day.

We did get to Palma, the islands largest city and capital. Wandering around the streets of old town it is apparent there is an Arabian influence in some of the architecture. For you die-hard shoppers there are lots of great boutiques.20150428_10114220150428_12070120150428_095841

20150428_121830

Great door. Can I bring this home, please?

20150428_102531

Clean and cold fresh water everywhere.

20150428_104219

Always wear good shoes for the way ahead is steep.

The seafood served on the island is fresh from the sea. Two specialties served are octopus and baby squid. I can’t bring myself to eat octopus since I read somewhere that octopus are highly intelligent creatures but Kris and I did taste the squid as an appetizer one evening. Tasty. And don’t let me forget to mention the olives. And sangria. And cava. The list goes on and on.

20150428_192700

Also, breakfast was served every morning on the terrace overlooking the sea. I could get used to that.

20150428_080750Mallorca or Majorca, however you wish to spell it is a lovely escape from reality even without ever stepping foot on a sailboat. I hope to get back some day.

20150427_185010

Don’t forget to stop and smell the roses.

And that my friends concludes the longest post I think I’ve ever written. Hope I didn’t bore you to tears because there is still one more to come. Soon I will take you to Barcelona where the flag of Catalonia flies.

Till then-  Adéu,

Karen

