Or no gas in my water, please!

“wit Kohlensäure” means with carbonation/bubbles/gas and “naturelle ohne Kohlensäure” means none. At least that is how I interpret it when I am buying water in the shops here in Karlsruhe. I won’t even go into the chore of buying water with no bubbles in the other countries we have visited. I am like the character in Dr. Seuss’ book “Green Eggs and Ham.”  I do not like fizz in my water, my mouth thinks it is a bother. Yeah, I can’t rhyme but you get the gist.

20150422_113059

Something I do like is the price of one of my favorite candies-the Ritter Sport Pfefferminz. Under a dollar and sometimes closer to fifty cents (euro). I also like the bubbles in prosecco!

I am sure you noticed my German language book. I carry it along with me just in case I am having a hard time communicating. Hard to imagine but sometimes my Texas accent inhibits the correct pronunciation of the few words I know in German.

20150421_140708

Spring has gotten an early start here in Karlsruhe. Flowers are blooming, the trees are sprouting foliage, and the lilac bushes serenade me with their fragrance daily as I walk through the streets of the city.

20150421_141013

Last night we went for a walk looking for something different to eat besides traditional German fare. We found a hamburger joint popular with the locals advertising freshly ground beef. Kris and I ordered the single burger but the Dutchman ordered the next to largest burger on the menu. I believe he said that he was still hungry after consuming the biggest burger I have ever seen in my life.

20150421_194700

Betcha he goes back tonight to get another one.

There is a train workers strike here in Germany. I had planned on taking a local train to go see my friend Ursula and her Airedale Ina in Bad Dürkheim but instead I have rented a car. This will insure my return on Friday to Karlsruhe so Kris and I can leave for Majorca (Mallorca) Saturday morning. Pictures will be taken of my visit with Ursula but I imagine any posts to the blog will have to wait until Spain.

So until then-

Tschüss,

Karen

P.S. – the beer is still fantastic here in Deutschland.

20150421_194125

