But this will be the final post. I know it has taken me awhile to get the third part published but since we arrived back on the mainland work and more travel ensued. We went to Vista, California but I will share that in another post soon so let’s re-visit Kauai.

I am a snorkeling fool. There- I admit it. Who would have known? The only time I have been snorkeling was many moons ago off of Key West and everyone on the boat was an experienced snorkeler with no obvious fears of the deep blue sea. Me on the other hand with my eyeglasses instead of contact lenses was terrified of what I might not see. So by the time I got myself oriented and started off, the rest of the group was returning. Not the best experience but I do remember seeing creatures that fascinated me so I was all gung-ho to try it again. My dearest Kris after hearing my one experience snorkeling did some research and found Snorkel Bob’s online information stating that they carried masks with Rx lenses. A big woo-hoo because this meant that I would be able to see everything swimming in the great big sea and this is important when you are out of your element.

2013-09-28 16.52.56

We rented our gear from here and snorkeled our way around Kauai.

We bought an underwater camera by Nikon to photograph the various reef creatures while we snorkeled and while we did get some nice pictures we were extremely disappointed when the display went haywire towards the end of our trip. Here are a few of the pictures Kris took while snorkeling.

Hawaii 286

Looks like a cartoon fish!

Hawaii 496

Pittsburgh Steeler fish

Hawaii 010

Some kind of Butterfly fish

Hawaii 266

Lot’s of these fish

Hawaii 285

We loved the rainbow fish. Don’t know their real name though.

Hawaii 010

Maybe a Milletseed Butterfly fish.

Hawaii 028

A colorful Wrasse fish.

Hawaii 741

Green Sea Turtle

Hawaii 495

Another Steeler fish fan!

Hawaii 672

Fish name unknown

The first time Kris and I saw the Green Sea Turtles was at Anini Beach when we met all the girls one day to picnic and snorkel. Our friend Rachel is recovering from a major back surgery a few months ago and needed a calm place to snorkel. Anini Beach fit the bill according to everything we had read. Anini has a large shallow area and calm water where you can snorkel to your hearts content.

This is the beach that convinced me to purchase a long sleeved swim shirt the next day. We snorkeled for about three hours and I got a little too much sun but I’ll shift the blame to the sea turtles. They made me stay in the water too long. Anyway, there I was meandering along checking out all the colorful fish including a couple of puffer fish when I saw an area that needed exploring when I almost bumped heads with a humongous turtle. At first I thought it was just part of the underwater rocks but when it raised it’s head, looked straight at me, I realized that the rocks around me were alive. Suddenly I realized there wasn’t just one turtle but a herd in the water with me. About this time Kris had spotted them and started snapping pictures but that is when our camera started acting stupid. It’s okay though because we were actually there swimming with real live sea turtles and nothing beats the real thing!

On Thursday four of us decided to go on a snorkeling cruise on the Na’Pali Coast. I had seen the weather forecast the day before and it said Thursday would be the last good clear day before we left. Guess what? Weather people all over the world broadcast incorrect forecasts and we had the rainiest day ever. It was still fun and an adventure that we will remember and laugh about when we are old. Below are a few pictures of our “three hour tour.”

Hawaii 471

Kathy and Kay wearing the latest fashion wear that is a must when the weather man is wrong.

Hawaii 432

Hard to tell but my hat was still dripping.

Hawaii 503

The fish swimming around the bottom of our boat.

Hawaii 485

The calm after the storm.

Hawaii 486

A nice little private area on the Na’ Pali coast.

Hawaii 454

Another boatload of raincoat clad fools investigating the numerous caves on the coastline.

Hawaii 469

Most of the pictures we have from the rainy ride to our snorkeling destination have water spots on them so I won’t share them with you. Just know that the water spots are from the rain and not the water splashing up onto the camera lens.

Though the snorkeling adventure was a bit of a wild ride and we were all humming the Gilligan Island theme song, it was fun. I was a little freaked out by the depth of the water when we arrived at our destination. Some of the fish were huge and I kept my eyes open for sea life that might of thought I was lunch. Kris on the other hand loved it and wished the water wouldn’t have been so murky from the crazy rain.

Our last two days on Kauai consisted of more snorkeling, beautiful sunsets, investigating the little shops and markets for inexpensive little trinkets, and getting our fill of local cuisine. During our week on Kauai we tried the local burgers at a few places, ate lots of ono/ wahoo, and tried starfruit and loved it. We had a lovely dinner with all of our friends including two more that had flown in the night before on Friday night at Duke’s. The restaurant is named after Duke Kahanamoku the famous surfing famous pioneer. All in all it was a fabulous holiday and we have decided that Kauai is our kind of place to visit. Next time we fly that direction we hope to visit some of the other islands.

2013-09-28 18.15.42

The Kauai Humane Society has a really cool program for pets that allows people to take a shelter dog on a field trip so they are not stuck in kennel waiting for their forever home. We ran into these folks on our last day on the island. Here is a link to read all about it! http://kauaihumane.org/volunteer/dogfieldtrips

I could go on and on about with so much more but for now Aloha from Kris and I.

20130925_150248

      Hawaii 377